Many states throughout the country have legalized the medical and recreational use of cannabis. However, Tennessee is one of only 14 states that has yet to authorize medical marijuana, which means possession of cannabis remains a serious criminal offense.
According to Tennessee law, possession or half (½) an ounce (oz.) or less of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 11 months and 29 days and/or a fine between $250 and $2,500. Although subsequent offenses lead to the same penalties, a second conviction results in a minimum fine of $500, while a third conviction carries a minimum fine of $1,000.
Sale of between ½ oz. and ten (10) pounds (lbs.) of marijuana is a Class E felony, which carries a maximum prison term of six years and/or a fine between $2,000 and $5,000. Sale of between 10 lbs. and 70 lbs. of cannabis is a Class D felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 12 years and/or a fine between $2,000 and $50,000.
Sale of between four (4) and eight (8) lbs. of hashish or concentrated cannabis is a Class C felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 15 years and/or a fine ranging from $2,000 to $100,000. Sale of between 70 and 300 lbs. of cannabis is a Class B felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of 30 years and/or a fine between $2,000 and $200,000.
Sale of 300 lbs. or more, or more than 15 lbs. of hashish are Class A felonies, which carries a maximum prison term of 60 years and/or a fine ranging from $2,000 to $500,000.
Growing less than 10 plants is a Class E felony, while growing between 10 and 19 plants is a Class D felony. Growing between 20 and 99 plants is a Class C felony, while growing between 100 and 499 plants is a Class B felony. Lastly, growing more than 500 plants is a Class A felony.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a drug crime in Jackson or Clarksville, contact Casey, Simmons & Bryant, PLLC today to let us protect your rights and freedom. We have more than three decades of collective legal experience!