Jackson DUI Attorney
Facing DUI Charges in Tennessee?
If you are pulled over while driving because an officer suspects that you are driving under the influence, you may be subject to field sobriety / chemical tests and an arrest. The tests performed by police officers are intended to check if you have a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08% or higher to warrant an arrest. You are not legally required to perform field sobriety exercises. However, Tennessee law now requires that you submit to a breath or blood test to determine whether you are intoxicated, if an officer finds probable cause to believe you are driving under the influence. If you refuse consent to such a test, you may face a separate charge and separate consequences. Whether you are currently facing charges for DUI or were told that you are facing charges for test refusal, our Jackson criminal defense lawyers can help.
Aggressively Defending Your Rights
At Casey, Simmons & Bryant, PLLC, we understand the various steps you will be going through in a criminal proceeding for DUI charges. From the time you are tested and arrested, until you are facing prosecution, it is essential that you have experienced representation on your side. We have extensive experience working to get cases dropped by disproving chemical tests, invalidating evidence, and proving that pulling you over was unlawful initially.
What Are the Consequences of a DUI in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, drivers arrested for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol could face severe penalties. State laws require minimum jail time for DUI offenders, including those with a first offense. Anyone found guilty of driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration, BAC, of .08 or more is considered impaired and could be arrested for DUI.
Drivers may be pulled over for swerving, committing traffic violations, speeding, or could be tested after the driver was involved in a crash. Officers may ask for a field sobriety test or might measure the driver’s BAC through a breath or blood test. Any of this evidence can be used against you in court. If you were arrested for DUI, it is important that you understand the consequences you could face if convicted.
Common consequences of DUI includes:
- Jail or prison time
- Revocation of license
- Suspension of license
- Points on your license
- Required IID
- Alcohol counseling
- Community service
The consequences also depend on the number of offenses:
For the first DUI offense, individuals will be required to spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail. However, if the driver’s BAC was over .20 the minimum will be raised to 7 days in jail. In addition to mandatory jail time, the convicted driver might also face up to $1,500 in fines. In most circumstances, the driver will also have his or her driver’s license revoked for up to 1 year and will be required to attend an alcohol and drug treatment program. However, if the DUI involved a damaging crash, injured anyone, or the driver’s BAC was considered extremely high, these penalties may increase.
A second DUI offense will find the driver responsible for a minimum of 45 days in jail. However, this could increase to 11 months and 29 days in certain circumstances. Additionally, the driver will be charged with a mandatory fine between $1,100 and $10,000, and court-ordered alcohol and drug programs. The court is also likely to revoke the driver’s license for up to 2 years after the second DUI offense, though even when the driver’s license is restored the driver will be restricted and the vehicle may be outfitted with an interlock device.
Driving restrictions typically limit the driver to certain destinations, like work, school, and any court-ordered programs. It is also important to note that from the second DUI offense onward, the court has the authority to confiscate the driver’s vehicle.
The third DUI offenders will be required to spend a minimum of 120 days in jail, with a maximum jail sentence of just under 1 year. Those found guilty will also be fined between $1,100 and $10,000 dollars, though the penalties that affect the offender’s ability to drive are much more substantial. The driver may have his or her license revoked for up to 10 years with no possibility of receiving a restricted license, even for necessities.
All subsequent offenses, a fourth DUI and onward, may result in up to $15,000 in fines, driver’s license revocation with no restricted license available, and a minimum jail sentence of 1 year. These offenses are also charged as felonies.
Experienced Tennessee DUI Defense Lawyer
If you have been arrested for first time DUI, multiple DUI, or DUI with injury, you could face very severe consequences. We are here to protect your rights and ensure you receive a fair trial. Our goal is to gather sufficient evidence to build an argument on your behalf to get your charges dismissed or reduced. With more than 30 years of combined legal experience, we have earned a reputation for the success of our Jackson criminal defense attorneys and team.
To learn more about how we can help in a free consultation, contact us now.
Our PromiseHere's What You Can Expect From Our Firm
At our firm, we understand that you are going through a difficult time. We will guide you through this process with compassion and experience.
We understand that every case is unique. Our firm provides personalized attention and unique strategies for each case in order to achieve the most favorable results.
When you work with our firm, you will have advocates on your side that are ready for any circumstances and are not afraid to take your case to trial to secure favorable results.
Decades of Experience
Our firm offers more than 30 years of combined legal experience to advocate for you. Each of our attorneys will bring their insight and to your case.